Underage drivers can be charged with an under 21 operating while impaired (OWI) offense for having even a small amount of alcohol in their system. While the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit for drivers of age is .08% in Louisiana, this is reduced to only .02% for drivers under 21. Fortunately, a qualified OWI defense lawyer can help if you or your child is currently facing an Under 21 OWI offense.

Under 21 OWI

The penalties for an Under 21 OWI depends on the number of drunk-driving offenses you have on your criminal record. For a first offense, you may be fined $100-$250 and ordered to complete a driver improvement course and substance abuse program.

If convicted of a second or subsequent Under 21 offense, you may be fined $150-$500 and ordered to serve a 10 day to three month jail sentence.

Please note that underage drivers who have a BAC of .08% or higher may be charged with a standard OWI—this means jail time, community service, higher fines, and a driver’s license suspension.

Fighting An Under 21 OWI

Those who are facing an Under 21 OWI in Louisiana are encouraged to work with a defense attorney. Because the BAC limit is so low, there is a chance that factors other than alcohol, such as the use of mints, gum, or mouthwash, could have an impact on the breathalyzer test.

Put your case in the hands of a OWI lawyer with experience. Attorney J. Bradley Cockrell has helped a number of clients successfully fight their drunk-driving charges to avoid a conviction and the serious consequences that come with it. For help with your case, contact us now to schedule a free consultation.

Free Case Evaluation

Electric Lemonade Logo