As you may know, the legal drinking age in the State of Louisiana is 21. Following this logic, underage individuals should never operate a vehicle with alcohol in their system. Under the state’s Zero Tolerance laws, drivers under 21 could be charged with operating while impaired (OWI) with even a small amount of alcohol in their system. If you or your child is currently facing a Louisiana zero tolerance charge, hiring an OWI defense lawyer may be in your best interest.

Penalties For Violating Underage OWI

The penalties for an under 21 drunk-driving conviction depend on the number of prior offenses on your record. For a first offense, you could be charged $100-$250 in fines and be ordered to complete a substance abuse evaluation and driver improvement school.

If convicted of a second zero tolerance offense, you could face 10 days to three months in jail; however, this time could be suspended. In addition, you could be ordered to pay $150-$500 in fines, perform 80 hours of community service, and complete a substance abuse evaluation and driver improvement school.

Contact An Underage OWI Attorney

An underage OWI won’t just result in penalties–it can also lead to a permanent criminal record. Attorney J. Bradley Cockrell understands the implications of a Zero Tolerance violation, and can work to defend you of these charges.

For a free consultation on your Louisiana underage OWI case, please contact our law office or complete our online form today.

Free Case Evaluation

Electric Lemonade Logo